Design a site like this with
Get started

Southern Joy: Over the Next Hill

Southern Joy
Over the Next Hill (Sounding Board SJ 1020)

I suppose a site like this isn’t complete without some Southern Gospel, and this is a nice example of that from the mid-1970’s. Southern Joy was a gospel group from Greenville, SC. Performed well without too much affectation, with a lively tempo to keep your feet patting the way they should.

The songs (for individual download:

  1. I’m One of His Own
  2. Yesterday
  3. Glory Road
  4. They That Sow in Tears
  5. I’ll See You in the Rapture
  6. I Feel Something Good is About to Happen
  7. Please Search the Book Again
  8. Something I Can Feel
  9. Jesus Will Never Say No
  10. Over The Next Hill

The group was led by Frank and Dovie Hopkins. Others who helped with the album are as follows:

  • Keyboard: Steve Hanks and Otis Forrest
  • Guitar: Pee Wee Melton
  • Bass: John Brookshire
  • Steel Guitar: Tom Dodd
  • Engineer: Jesse Evatte
  • Art Direction: Ron Mattox


11 Replies to “Southern Joy: Over the Next Hill”

  1. The Dixie Crusaders from Chattanooga did most of these songs on several albums in the 80’s. l was the bass with them and w traveled all over TN, AL and GA for several years.
    What precious memories! Thanks for this posting!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: